Photo: Ed Clover

Today, legendary punk band Descendents announce their upcoming album 9th & Walnut, due out July 23 via Epitaph Records. Recorded in 2002, the original four-piece lineup — bassist Tony Lombardo, drummer Bill Stevenson, guitarist Frank Navetta (d. 2008), and vocalist Milo Aukerman — entered the studio to finally record the songs with which they first forged their genre-defining sound.
Named for their Long Beach practice space back in the day, the 18-track collection features the bands’ earliest material written from 1977 through 1980. The collection also includes Descendents’ debut tracks 'Ride the Wild' & 'It’s a Hectic World' (heard here for the first time with vocals by Milo), and the Dave Clark Five’s 'Glad All Over' with the full Descendents treatment.
The band offers the first glimpse of 9th & Walnut with 'Baby Doncha Know'. “’Baby Doncha Know’ was maybe the 5th song we learned,” recalls drummer Bill Stevenson. “We would go out to 9th & Walnut every weekend and practice all day. I mainly just remember being in awe of how ‘a kid my age, who goes to my high school’ could have written all these cool songs. Frank seemed to have a maturity beyond his years. I never asked him who or what it was about. I was just happy to be there with him and Tony”.
1.    Sailor's Choice
2.    Crepe Suzette
3.    You Make Me Sick 
4.    Lullaby 
5.    Nightage
6.    Baby Doncha Know 
7.    Tired of Being Tired 
8.    I'm Shaky 
9.    Grudge
10.    Mohicans
11.    Like the Way I Know 
12.    It’s A Hectic World 
13.    To Remember 
14.    Yore Disgusting 
15.    It's My Hair 
16.    I Need Some
17.    Ride the Wild
18.    Glad All Over (Dave Clark Five cover)
Pre-order ‘9th & Walnut’ HERE.
Descendents are vocalist Milo Aukerman, bassist Tony Lombardo, late guitarist Frank Navetta, and drummer Bill Stevenson.

You may also like

Back to Top